Critical Arctic Studies Symposium, Oct 2023, uutiskuvapohja_550x367px.jpg

Critical Arctic Studies Symposium, 10. - 12. October 2023

10.10.2023 9:00–12.10.2023 17:00

Symposium on “Post-Human Dialogues: Rethinking human-nature relations in and through the Arctic”

The UArctic thematic network “Critical Arctic Studies” and the project “A Planetary Approach to Global Arctic Politics”, funded by the University of Lapland, co-organize the first Critical Arctic Studies Symposium. It will be held in Rovaniemi, Finland, from 10 to 12 October 2023 on the theme “Post-Human Dialogues: Rethinking human-nature relations in and through the Arctic” .

We live in the age of polycrisis (or permacrisis), characterised by the combination of long-term, complex and intertwined risks related, inter alia, to health, energy, climate change and economic shocks. New imaginaries, practices and knowledge are necessary to cope with this situation. Although the Arctic is often viewed as a showcase of ongoing global change, research on Arctic politics and governance tends to be very state-centric, and it often overlooks how non-state actors and non-human agents shape those processes. To challenge traditional approaches, this symposium invites critical, interdisciplinary perspectives that seek to expand our understanding of human-nature relations in and through the Arctic. The Symposium aims to reflect on and explore novel notions and approaches to the human-nature relationship from various onto-epistemological, normative, and methodological perspectives. We welcome papers discussing post-human approaches to Arctic politics from the perspective of social sciences, humanities, law, geography, and related fields.

Submission of Abstracts

If you are interested in participating in the symposium, send an abstract of no more than 200 words to: mpayveal@ulapland.fi by May 10, 2023. Please indicate whether you plan to attend in person or online.


Practical Information


  • For enquiries, please send an email to mpayveal@ulapland.fi
  • Organisers: Dr. Sanna Kopra, Prof. Monica Tennberg, Dr. Marlene Payva, Dr. Vesa Väätänen